Just for fun… Red Velvet + cooked flour frosting

In my 4 years in business, I have never once changed a cake recipe. I’ve been making the same cakes the same way all this time. People seem to like them and they stack and carve beautifully – which is important for what I do – so why mess with a good thing?

Since Cafe Brea in Dartmouth has started selling my cupcakes, I’ve explored many different recipes. Tonight I played around with a few recipes for Red Velvet cupcakes. Although many love a cream cheese icing with the Red Velvet, apparently, it’s not the “traditional” icing for this lovely cake. The traditional icing is a cooked one that includes flour! Crazy, I say… until I almost ate the entire bowl with a spoon. Sadly, it won’t hold up well in my cakes, but here’s the recipe for those who are interested in giving this a whirl:

3 Tbsp flour
1 cup milk (I only had skim so I used 1/2 skim and 1/2 whipping cream)
1 cup granulated sugar
1 cup butter (somewhat cool, cut into 1″ cubes)
1 to 2 tsp vanilla (to taste)

In a pot, mix flour and 1/4c. milk to form a paste (yeah, like making gravy!), then slowly add the remainder of the milk. The original recipe tells you to beat the butter and the sugar but I don’t like grit in my frosting so I added the sugar to the pot, too. Heat on medium high and stir constantly with a whisk until it’s nice and thick (careful not to burn). Dump it into a bowl and let cool. Once it’s at room temp, add vanilla and beat for a few minutes then add your butter. Beat until light and fluffy.

Lick beaters.
Transfer frosting to piping bag.
Lick bowl.
Pipe frosting onto cupcakes.
Taste test!!
Recover from bellyache.

About citygirlcakes

I finally have the best job ever!! View all posts by citygirlcakes

Leave a Reply

