Let Them Eat Cake

Back in May, I was given the opportunity to make a cake for the dessert table for the Heart and Stroke Red Hot in the City fundraising event. When Avril (of Update Events) sent me the inspiration board for the event, I got giddy.

Marie Antoinette. French opulence. Black. White. Red.

The cake for the dessert table (the devine desserts were make by the talented folks at The Prince George Hotel) was a three tier round with black ruffles, handpainted gold accents, large red flowers, and a gumpaste Marie Antoinette inspired lady as the topper.

Since I was having so much fun, I also made a cake inspired by a porcelain doll… ruffles, ruffles, and more ruffles! This cake went home with a lucky winner that evening.

My super talented friends at Applehead Studio Photography shot the event and kindly shared these pictures (thanks Liam and Steph!).

Thanks to my Grey Goose drinking buddy, Rob, who aptly titled this blog post when I posted a sneak peek pic on my Facebook page. There’s a debate as to whether Marie Antoinette ever uttered those words, but for today, we’ll pretend she did!

About citygirlcakes

I finally have the best job ever!! View all posts by citygirlcakes

One response to “Let Them Eat Cake

  • liam

    I can take no credit for any of this. This is the work of two fine ladies. Steph Camp and Jenn Nauss shot these images. Amazing work as always Shauna.

Leave a Reply

