Get Your Rock On – Happy Bday Live105!

Live Life Loud

Isn’t that an awesome tag line for a modern rock radio station? LOVE it.

Live 105 – Halifax’s modern rock station recently turned one and when my buddy Chris called and asked if I’d be interested in making a cake for this momentous occasion, it was a no brainer. I’ve been a fan of this station since inception and it’s what’s usually playing in the cake cave on any given day. However, there was a slight issue. They needed the cake in less than 20 hours.

It was a stretch. Cakes need time to cool and settle (usually overnight) – and then the design work begins. But I couldn’t say no. I love the station, the image, the brand… everything!! They gave me full creative rights as long as the logo was displayed – so I sketched a basic idea, turned up the tunes, and spent the evening in the cake cave for my very own version of Cake Challenge. I browsed their Facebook page for inspiration. Love the speaker graphics on their homepage and knew I wanted to incorporate them somehow. This became the design for the middle tier.

 

 

I also noticed that rock horns are incredibly popular in the people pictures – had to have those, too.  Here it is in progress… rice cereal treats covered in modeling chocolate.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It was a really fun piece and they displayed it “loud and proud” in the entrance of the station. Congratulations to the Live105 team on a very successful first year!

Rock On…

About citygirlcakes

I finally have the best job ever!! View all posts by citygirlcakes

Leave a Reply

