I. Love. This. Cake. …and my BFF gets married!

When my best friend, Penny, called to let me know she was engaged, I had a little selfish moment. Don’t get me wrong, I was over the moon for her, but I’m pretty sure that instead of screaming “Oh My God, congratulations!”, I said something like, “Oh My God, I can’t wait to make your wedding cake!”.

Oops. Sorry Pen.

So, not only did I act so selfishly, I also assumed that she would want me to make her cake. Nice….  But she did – so this story has a happy ending.

We took inspiration from her wedding invitations: black and white with a scroll design, added a monogram, and threw in hint of pink in the gumpaste flowers. Oh, and we also blinged it up a little with crystal gems. She loved it. I loved it. It was the best wedding ever. Happy Ending!

Of course, I forgot my camera and since I had to assemble the cake at the venue, I had no studio shots (teehee… if you are a photographer and reading this, you’re allowed to laugh at what I call “studio shots”). These photos were generously taken and then shared with me by Penny’s wedding photographer: Tanya Lynne Smith (http://www.tanyalynnephotography.showitsite.com/) – check out her work – awesome! She is also one of the nicest, patient, and relaxed person I’ve had the pleasure of meeting.

photo courtesy of Tanya Lynne Photography

photo courtesy of Tanya Lynne Photography

we also had a little groom's cake - photo courtesy of Tanya Lynne Photography

the stunning bride and her cake maker. photo courtesy of Tanya Lynne Photography

About citygirlcakes

I finally have the best job ever!! View all posts by citygirlcakes

Leave a Reply

