Happy 1st Anniversary Durty Nelly’s!

Rae from Diageo Canada contacted me (thanks for the referral, Penny!) requesting a special cake to celebrate Durty Nelly’s first year in business (awesome Irish Pub in Halifax, NS – go check it out!!  http://www.durtynellys.ca/). The request: a “pint of Guinness”.

No problem!

Uhmmm… Rae, think you could send me a pic? (Just so we’re on the same page.)

Okay – a little justification…. first: I have not been to a bar in FOREVER (which I do often miss). Second: I am not typically a beer drinker… unless it’s a super hot sunny day and I’m on the lake – or the deck… so my knowledge of beer is limited to whatever light brand is floating around. So, thanks for the pic!

Super fun cake to make and it turned out fabulously – layers of Oreo buttercream between chocolate cake.

And I even got a little lesson about the pouring of a Guinness: foam is poured proud or above the rim of the glass. The staff at Durty Nelly’s will also draw a little shamrock on the top of the foam… love it!

Congratulations, Durty Nelly’s, on your one year anniversary! May you enjoy many more in this wonderful city.

About citygirlcakes

I finally have the best job ever!! View all posts by citygirlcakes

Leave a Reply

